The things I love or the childhood book

One of my favorite books in the childhood was about a little boy’s world through his eyes. When the book starts, the protagonist, Dennis tells us about the things he loves and hates.

I always wondered how can that be an interesting starting of a book? I don’t know the boy and I don’t care what he loves or hates. Yes, once I read his story, I was definitely his friend; but at the start I barely knew him to give a damn.

It’s interesting how we make new friends. Do we tell them in the first few meetings, the things we like or the traits we don’t like? I suppose, we learn these details along the way. And one day we realise that the mundane conversations have now turned to sharing thoughts which actually matter.

But I guess Dennis has his own way of making friends and it sure worked in my case. I liked the boy even though I couldn’t relate with his love or hate.

So much so that after so many years when I was thinking about the things I love, his little voice reminded me of the things he loves and the stories he told me through that book.

It’s worth to mention that I was lucky to read the book in my mother tongue; thanks to Soviet Union Raduga publishers. The English translation of the book has no charm and has lost the essence of the boy’s tales completely.

Leave a Reply

